Meeting Register Page

Sephardi Thought and Modernity 2021 Webinar Series
A monthly lecture from February through June 2021, presenting different experiences of Sephardi modernization in different places and times.

The intention of this series is to spark the interest in processes of Jewish modernization not exclusively mediated by Europeanization. The questions we will be dealing with are related to non-dichotomic identities, multiplicity and loss of language, colonization, social transformation, and intellectual responses to it. We will approach these questions by looking at Jewish-Arab influences, the Sephardi response to European modernization, the responses of the rabbinic leadership and the work of Sephardi intellectuals.

February 18th: Almog Behar (Tel Aviv University): Between Judeo-Arabic, Literary Arabic and Hebrew in Jewish-Arab (Literary) Modernity

March 18th: Yaakov Yadgar (Oxford School of Global and Area Studies, University of Oxford): Sephardim in Israel and the critique of secularism

April 22nd: Clemence Boulouque(Columbia University):
In praise of the Orient: Elia Benamozegh’s Sephardic Modernities

May 20th: Gabriel Abensour (Hebrew University of Jerusalem): Rabbi Yosef Knafo’s Struggle for Democratization of Knowledge in Fin de Siècle Essaouira

June 17th: Yuval Evri (King’s College London) and Angy Cohen (University of Calgary): Foreign in a familiar land: language and belonging in the work of Jacqueline Kahanoff, Albert Memmi and Jacques Derrida.

Series organized by Yuval Evri (King’s College London) and Angy Cohen (University of Calgary). For more information, email angy.cohen@ucalgary.ca.

Note the change to Daylight Saving Time in March, so the event times in North America will remain the same, but the event time in your area may change depending on your location. The start time on Feb. 18 is 11 a.m. (MST), 1 p.m. (EST), 6 p.m. (GMT), 7 p.m. (Madrid; GMT +1); on March through June events, the start time will be 11 a.m. (MDT), 1 p.m. (EDT).
May 20, 2021 10:00 AM
Jun 17, 2021 10:00 AM
Time shows in
Meeting logo
Loading
* Required information